Here we go….


…. I’ve decided to start a blog! To be honest, I am not sure who I will share this with… but do know if you see it I love you dearly! :)

A caveat with me writing this blog –

  • I am not a very good writer
  • I like to use “….”
  • I write like I talk :)
  • I like to use smiley faces :)
  • I tend to mix up words! Just ask Calli .. Mussel or Muzzle :)

The title of the blog comes from my Mom! For many years, my Mom has told me “Be Good To Yourself! In tough times talking with friends or in random situations that statement will come up. It is a really strong statement when you stop and think about it. Women want to be Superwomen and concur it all – no matter your age!

I Googled “Be Good To Yourself” to start my blog off right! This isn’t from Psychology Today or from a Doctor of whatever, it’s from a woman who seems to be like you and me…

I’ve only been aware of the term “self-compassion” for a couple of months. I wish I’d learned about it sooner, because I have a history of being quite unkind to myself: I was clearly not being kind when I got angry at myself for not finishing last week’s post, made a bunch of excuses, then set another public deadline I couldn’t possibly meet (because I set myself up for failure again, and once again got angry at myself).

What does it mean to be kind to yourself? Being kind to yourself means not judging yourself harshly for not being perfect. It means not holding yourself to impossibly high standards. It means putting an end to comparing yourself to others. It means not beating yourself up for making a mistake. It means not criticizing yourself for “not being good enough” at something. It means not punishing yourself for not meeting a self-imposed deadline when you’ve simply got too much going on.

Being kind to yourself means being your own cheerleader. When you are consistently kind to yourself, you don’t need others to validate your efforts and boost your confidence because you can do those things for yourself.

Do you have an “inner voice” that’s overly critical, too? We should teach our inner voices to say nice things (or not to say anything at all), don’t you think? Wouldn’t it make sense to have reasonable expectations for ourselves so we aren’t setting ourselves up for failure? And why beat ourselves up when things don’t go the way we planned? We should be kind to ourselves when things are going well…and when they’re not. If we were kinder to ourselves, I think we’d all suffer a lot less and there’d be less need for so many people to be medicated for anxiety and depression.

Let’s be clear that being kind to yourself does not mean allowing yourself to spend all your days laying on the couch eating bon bons. Quite the contrary: being kind to yourself means respecting your body so that you take excellent care of yourself. Being kind to yourself means you are more likely to put good food into your body, get enough sleep, and exercise regularly. When you are kind to yourself, you’ll feel better physically and mentally. You’ll be more likely to excel at all that you do, and you’ll be better able to take good care of others.

Many people are excellent at showing compassion to others but fall short when it comes to being kind to themselves. What about you? Are you self-compassionate or is this an area you need to work on? Are you “in” for this One Simple Change? I’d love to hear what this topic brings up for you in the comments section below. –

…so let’s all “Be Good To Yourself!”

xoxo- SK

My Mom!

My Mom! Always so strong in her actions, compassion and love! Picture from a great day of golfing in Alliance, Nebraska with Lee and I.

Leave a Reply

